Wednesday, Date: Mar 22, 2023 Time: 11:41 am

Governor of Punjab Flags off the marathon

Chandigarh: 2nd Chandigarh Battalion NCC along-with Chandigarh Distance Runners (CDR) conducted the NCC Platinum Jubilee Half Marathon today on behalf of Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Chandigarh NCC Directorate . Governor of Punjab and Administrator of UT Chandigarh Shri Banwari Lal Purohit flagged off the marathon at Chandigarh club.
The half marathon witnessed participation of over 1200 people from all walks of life including NCC cadets (girls/ boys), Chandigarh Distance Runners (CDR), city woffer and locales. On the occasion, a 10 km run was flagged off by Additional Director General Maj. Gen. Hardev Singh Sohi ‘SM’ and a 5 km run by Brigadier Gagan Cheema, Deputy Director General.
Shri Amar Singh Chauhan, who has recently won 101st Gold Medal in running and fondly called as “Golden Sikh” by the running community marked the occasion by running 10 KM. Shri Rakesh Kashyap the RECENT SPARTHATHON FINISHER IN GREECE, was the special guest of honour. Sh. Vishawjeet Kaushik, Member CDR was also among the distinguished guests.
All these guests are also part of CDR, the largest running group of tricity.
On the occasion, Maj. Gen. Sohi informing about the Platinum Jubilee celebrations of NCC said that the nation looks forward to NCC, the largest uniformed Youth Organisation in the world to inculcate the values of Comradeship, Discipline, National Unity, and self-less service amongst our youth. The multifaceted activities and varied curriculum of the NCC provides unique opportunities to the youth for self – development. NCC continues its relentless efforts towards moulding the present day youth into responsible citizens of tomorrow for nation building. In the end of the event, Prizes were given away by the distinguished guests to the runners of 21 km,10 km and 5 km runs.
There were performances by 5 Dogra Pipe Band, bhangra by GGDSD 32, giddha by SGGSWC 26 and jumba by Suraj and Troupe. Cash prizes were given to winners in each category alongwith hampers and trophies provided by the Ex students KVites headed by Mrs Kiran from AF school Chandigarh.
Winners 21 km race
Men Women

  1. Imran Ahmad 1. Mamta Sharma
    Winners 10 km race
  2. Ritik Sharma 1. Anoop Kiran
    Winners 05 km race
  3. Jashndeep Singh 1. Antima

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *